Blog

What is the Motorcycle Helmet Law in Utah?

Posted by George Tait | Jul 15, 2022 | 0 Comments

Motorcycle helmet laws vary across the nation—here is what you need to know about motorcycle helmet laws in Utah.

Utah State Law

Motorcycle helmet law in Utah is contained in the Utah State Code 41-6a-1505.  This law states:

(1)

A person under the age of 21 may not operate or ride any of the following on a highway unless the person is wearing protective headgear that complies with specifications adopted under Subsection (3):

(a)

a motorcycle;

(b)

a motor-driven cycle;

(c)

a class 3 electric assisted bicycle; or

(d)

an autocycle that is not fully enclosed.

       

(2)

This section does not apply to persons riding within an enclosed cab.

(3)

The following standards and specifications for protective headgear are adopted:

(a)

49 C.F.R. 571.218 related to protective headgear for motorcycles; and

(b)

16 C.F.R. Part 1203 related to protective headgear for bicycles, motor assisted scooters, and electric personal assistive mobility devices.

     

(4)

A court shall waive $8 of a fine charged to a person operating a vehicle described in Subsection (1) for a moving traffic violation if the person was:

(a)

21 years of age or older at the time of operation; and

(b)

wearing protective headgear that complies with the specifications adopted under Subsection (3) at the time of operation.

     

(5)

The failure to wear protective headgear:

(a)

does not constitute contributory or comparative negligence on the part of a person seeking recovery for injuries; and

(b)

may not be introduced as evidence in any civil litigation on the issue of negligence, injuries, or the mitigation of damages.

     

(6)

Notwithstanding Subsection (4), a court may not waive $8 of a fine charged to a person operating a motorcycle or motor-driven cycle for a driving under the influence violation of Section 41-6a-502.

(7)

A violation of this section is an infraction.

The Bottom Line on Utah Motorcycle Helmet Law:

  • 21 years or less—wear a helmet—it's the law.
  • The helmet must be DOT approved.
  • You get a break if speeding and wearing a helmet.
  • An infraction may carry a heavy price.

Utah Bike Law and its attorneys are licensed to practice law only in the State of Utah and maintain offices in Salt Lake City, Utah. No attorney client relationship is established by simply visiting this website.

About the Author

George Tait

Since 2004 George Tait has dedicated his practice to helping injured people and their families get fair and full compensation from the insurance companies. Before becoming an attorney George Tait was a Registered Nurse for over 15 years. The last years of his nursing career were in the Universit...

Comments

There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Utah Bike Law Is Here for You

At Utah Bike Law, we focus on Motorcycle Crashes and we are here to listen to you and help you navigate the legal system.

Contact Utah Bike Law Today

Utah Bike Law is committed to answering your questions about Motorcycle Accident law issues in the Salt Lake City area.

We offer free consultations and we will gladly discuss your case with you at your convenience. Contact us today to schedule an appointment.